welcome to the island of Tinos – GREECE
Tinos (Greek name: Τηνος), also known as Tynos (Italian: Tine) is part of the Cyclades complex. In antiquity, Tinos was also famous as Ophiussa and Hydroessa. The closest islands are Andros and Mykonos. The area of the island is 194 sq. km and the population – about 8,000 people. Between 1207 and 1715, Tinos was a Venetian island. From 1715 to 1821, Tinos was ruled by the Ottoman Empire before joining Greece during the War of Independence. Some of the things Tinos is famous for are: the 20 windmills, the monastery of Panagia Evangelistria, the 1000 traditional pigeon-houses, the peaceful co-existence of Greek-Orthodox and Catholics, the Venetian fortifications, and for its renowned sculptors and painters like Gyzis, Chalepas and Tsokles.
Tinos island also hosts an yearly pilgrimage on the 15th of August, as the Panagia Evangelistria Monastery shelters one reportedly miraculous iron of Virgin Mary. There is a legend that one of the nuns in the monastery (in the beginning of 19th century) had a series of visions, then the icon was accidentally discovered at a site of ancient Byzantine church, which was long before also a Dionysus temple. The icon, called Panagia Evangelistria, meaning Our Lady of Good Tidings, is a wonderful portrayal of Mary kneeling with her head bent in prayer. After its discovery, a new church adjacent to the monastery was built. The mining on Tinos island includes marbles, Verde antico, asbestos and granite mine near Volakas.
Other interesting places to visit on Tinos are: the numerous small villages, which wait to be explored with their preserved tranquility and traditions – the typical Cycladic architecture of whitewashed houses, colourful window, blooming yards, fountains, lovely arches. The so-called pigeon-houses (“peristerones”) are masterpieces of the two-storey architecture. There are over 1000 of them on Tinos. Only two of the picturesque windmills are still working: Varvanis Windmill and Kosmas Windmill